Ecuador: Day 3

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddieWaking up in Manta to the peaceful sound of the ocean was delightful and definitely helped me process the experience I had the previous day. I got ready and headed down to breakfast excited to try some new foods… there was a man in front of me in the buffet line who seemed to be local or at least familiar with the food so i followed behind him and did exactly what he did as he prepared a bowl of what i found out later to be ceviche. hehe it was delicious!! I am definitely going to learn to make it so I can prepare it for my family. Anyone have any pointers? We journeyed to Montecristi to visit  another one of the 40 churches that was planted by pastor Rosita and her husband. There we met 200 children that were part of the sponsor program. The children welcomed us with open arms and the best hugs! Although I don’t speak spanish I feel like futbol was a language in its own and it was easier to click with the kids once we batted it out on the field. (lol) After getting acquainted we went inside the church to see a performance from the boys and girls about being a soldier for christ. We had a scrumptious lunch and then we went to do another home visit.. I encourage you to watch the video I posted below when we were driving through the projects… a small portion of the hardships the children face are discussed. We met a beautiful family with two bright girls that were a part of the program and wanted to study to become a doctor and professor. I loved getting to hug those precious girls and say I believe in you. Pouring into the children’s hearts was probably the most rewarding thing for me. Even though we only had a little amount of time to spend with them… simply showing love and kindness is a wonderful way to show these kids that christ lives through the light in each of us.  We had to say our last goodbyes to the kids which seems harder and harder to do. We returned to the hotel ate dinner and took off to catch our flight back to Quito. How do you spread the light inside of you? 

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie

Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddie Ecuador, Neartown Church, MedleyofMaddieI do apologize for not keeping up with posts real time… but I am posting the rest of the trip chronologically.. helping me to do some post trip reflecting

 

